Icon-overall En general: Regular (50)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: No bueno (43)
Icon-social Social: Regular (50)
Icon-campus Facilities: Regular (48)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Septiembre 18, 2017

CELTA is intense. experience was mixed. The induction needs to be better, there was no tour at all of the language school, the first week is spent fumbling around looking for things. The facilities are okay, there are not enough printers, and the printers that are there are not up to the job of the excessive amount of printing and photocopying required. Some of the rooms are not equipped for teaching due to the building being old and listed. The city centre location is excellent. The school needs to keep closer eye on materials as, unfortunately, fellow students are selfish and do not return things, put things back where they are meant to go etc.

Teaching to real life foreign students is really good practice, trainees are delivering the free English classes that are ran in the afternoons. It is daunting at first but you get two weeks with different levels of ability you'll likely encounter after leaving before going out to real schools around the world. This was the best part of the course.

The main male tutor was a good laugh, investing a lot of time in the group and helped (whether happily or not) when frequently pestered by everyone with their various needy questions and requests. The range of female tutors is extremely mixed, from very laid back, friendly and approachable to extremely uptight, unapproachable, unhelpful, downright rude and cold. Obviously the latter not being very popular amongst my peers who, at the end of the day, have never taught a lesson before the CELTA began. Some slack should be cut and is the reason I have rated Teaching as 'not good' for this individual alone - she was that bad. They seriously need to monitor the way this individual is allowed to speak to ADULT trainees. She was condescending and repeatedly reminded the group that we were a weak group in very very poor attempts at humour which were NOT welcome during this very stresful and intense course. Approach this individual with caution as I was disgusted with some of her antics. It turns out I was not the only one who thought this.

All in all the experience was okay - I'm just glad I've done it and it's now over. It is an extremely intense, demanding course but it is just for four weeks at the end of the day. It's expensive and only commit to CELTA if you really want this as a career. You have to cancel all plans during the 4-weeks that is no exaggeration. Good luck.

2 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Bueno (89)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Bueno (83)
Icon-social Social: Bueno (80)
Icon-campus Facilities: Regular (50)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Septiembre 2, 2017

It was okay.

Not sure I would go back

building needs updating, but I understand it is a listed building so not much can be done about that.

Teachers are okay, the school just wants your money really. so many of my fellow students don't care and don't turn up which is frustrating for everyone else

0 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Bueno (76)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Bueno (82)
Icon-social Social: Bueno (79)
Icon-campus Facilities: Bueno (78)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Agosto 10, 2017

My experience at Manchester school of English was really good because all the staff and the teachers were helpful and nice. In my opinion the school is well organised: the first day there was a tour of the school and they gave students inductions. The school suggested many international meetings and school trips. If you wanted some more informations about the city, clubs, attractions, at the reception you could get them. The teachers gave me some tips to improve my english. I think it's a good school to practise English.

1 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Excelente (92)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Excelente (100)
Icon-social Social: Excelente (100)
Icon-campus Facilities: Bueno (87)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Junio 23, 2017

The course was superb from start to finish. I absorbed so much new information both in general and in relation to the teaching of English. Teaching staff were very friendly and assignments were marked the very next day (in some cases, on the same day).

Anyone who is already a qualified teacher without any great knowledge of Teaching English would also still benefit by doing this course if you are thinking of teaching English, regardless of what people might say. I was told my years experience as a teacher combined with my PGCE meant that the CELTA would be a waste of time/money and there would be no point in doing it. The absolute opposite occurred.

I recommend the course 100%.

1 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Excelente (100)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Excelente (100)
Icon-social Social: Excelente (100)
Icon-campus Facilities: Excelente (100)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Junio 18, 2017

After completing a TEFL course at a different school in Manchester, I still felt unprepared for what would await me in the classroom. CELTA seemed the logical choice to continue my development whilst gaining that much needed experience of teaching students.

The Manchester Academy of English is in a central location within the city centre, situated off the corner of Piccadilly Gardens. This is a few minutes away from most of the bus stops, metrolink and train station. There are a variety of cafes, restaurants and take-away outlets within a stones throw.

Pam and Stephanie were wonderful teachers, providing constant support and advice throughout the course. They are both very approachable with problems, using their wealth of experience to guide students through their problems. I chose to do the one month intensive course, and they did not lie about how intensive it is! Each week gets progressively difficult, bundling together a mixture of; well structured and interactive lessons; monitoring qualified teachers as well as other students; plus, 8 lessons which you have to prepare and teach. The fact that these lessons are taught to actual foreign students (the College provides free language classes taught by the trainee teachers), gives you a first hand practical experience of what is expected.

As soon as I moved to Taiwan I had to complete two trial demonstrations on classes. Fresh from the course and full of ideas, I found this to be a much easier task. I would recommend the CELTA course at the Manchester Academy of English to anyone looking for a friendly learning atmosphere.

  • Img_8773
  • Img_8772
0 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Excelente (100)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Excelente (100)
Icon-social Social: Excelente (100)
Icon-campus Facilities: Excelente (100)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Febrero 13, 2017

Studying for my CELTA qualification at the Manchester Academy of English was an absolute pleasure.
From the moment I first spoke to the staff at the academy I found them to be extremely helpful and accommodating! Ensuring I got on to my CELTA course swiftly and without any complications (with not much time to spare), and throughout the course until the day the course ended, all of the staff were wonderful to work with.
The academy had up to date equipment and facilities, and everything one would need to study effectively.
I would highly recommend choosing this academy, I'm sure anybody who does will not be disappointed!

1 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Excelente (100)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Excelente (100)
Icon-social Social: Excelente (100)
Icon-campus Facilities: Excelente (100)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Febrero 9, 2017

Great school to study CELTA. Really good support from tutors and helpful input sessions. Would recommend anyone here!

1 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Regular (46)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Bueno (85)
Icon-social Social: Regular (50)
Icon-campus Facilities: No bueno (41)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Diciembre 9, 2016

Most teachers are passionate about teaching English which is the best part of this school. Yet, some times I think a few teachers don't prepare their classes. Despite the fact that I complained about this problem to the manager in several times, she hasn't try to solve and understand how students think about the school. Whenever I complain, she always says this is because my English ability isn't good. I can't share my problems of this school at all. However, FCE class has really good quality of curriculum. Stuart, who's the teacher of this course was brilliant in teaching ! I definitely would recommend FCE, if you considered taking this course.

0 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Bueno (83)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Bueno (80)
Icon-social Social: Excelente (91)
Icon-campus Facilities: Bueno (71)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Diciembre 9, 2016

I really enjoyed the FCE lessons. They are much more profitable compared to the General English. Overall I had a great time in Manchester and met many friendly and kind people. The school is well-located in the city centre.

0 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada
Icon-overall En general: Regular (53)
Icon-teaching Enseñanza: Bueno (68)
Icon-social Social: Regular (63)
Icon-campus Facilities: Regular (54)

Manchester Academy of English

reviewed on Diciembre 9, 2016

The FCE course was great. Lessons were really challenging and intensive but at the same time they were really useful and worthwhile. I am very satisfied with them.

0 ¡Ey, gracias! ¡Muy buena información!
Denunciar opinión inapropiada