Icon-overall Overall: Good (89)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (67)
Icon-social Social: Good (79)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (85)

BSc (Hons) Biology @ Aberystwyth

reviewed on October 15, 2014

Aberystwyth is a beautiful place to live. you only have to check the Instagram of any Aberystwyth student to realise that. there will be at least one sunset over the sea photo on every account. The teaching is fairly good. most lecturer i have had maintain an open doors policy and are open to questions after a lecture. The class sizes are very large though, sometimes filling the lecture hall completely. The social side of Aberystwyth is great. Aber has the highest pub to student ratio of any place in the united kingdom and is pretty much a student town. There are also two nightclubs in Aberystwyth which are pretty basic and wouldn't excite that enjoys big nightclubs. The best part about aber in my opinion is the range of societies that are on offer. Game of thrones, Theatre, Model united nations. Think of anything and Aber probably has it. The campus on the whole is good. A decent library, good food and the fact that most of campus is within 10 minutes walk from most university accommodation. Aberystwyth is also home to the university of Wales which is great if you can't find a book in the university library. Overall Aberystwyth is a fantastic place to live and I'm glad that I chose Aber

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (86)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (86)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (96)

BSc (Hons) Psychology and Criminology @ Aberystwyth

reviewed on October 3, 2014

I studied Psychology with Criminology and Law at Aberystwyth University from September 2011 - June 2014.

I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of my University experience and It has taught me a great deal.

University not only teaches you further academic study, but you also learn so much about yourself and you develop greatly as a person.

Aberystwyth University was fantastic in terms of its teaching staff, facilities and support. I can't praise them more highly.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (77)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (88)
Icon-social Social: Good (84)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (87)

BA (Hons) Modern Languages with Business and Management @ Aberystwyth

reviewed on March 15, 2014

I like this Uni, I would choose it once again :)

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (76)
Icon-social Social: OK (51)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BSc (Hons) Computer Science @ Aberystwyth

reviewed on March 13, 2014

The life in Aberystwyth University have been quite a fascinating time for me. Since the town is quite tiny, it is more than likely that you will meet someone you know in town. That is the reason that you will have an enjoying time and get to know lots of people here.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (83)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (72)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (70)

BSc (Hons) Zoology @ Aberystwyth

reviewed on March 12, 2014

This is the first time that I'm studying abroad. It was a bit scary at first but now I think it is really cool. I have made a lot of friends and I'm getting more and more used to the language. 1 year is almost done and it's scary how fast it goes when you are having fun

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (65)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (98)
Icon-social Social: Good (86)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (84)

BA (Hons) Modern Languages with Business and Management @ Aberystwyth

reviewed on March 11, 2014

Coming to Aberystwyth was an insane idea, but it was worth it. Met many great people and found what really interests me and what doesn't.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (84)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (71)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (88)

LLB (Hons) Human Rights @ Aberystwyth

reviewed on March 6, 2014

This is a good University. Most of the teachers are fun, and the campus is great. The city is a bit small, but there is lots to do and lots of bars to visit!

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (91)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (90)
Icon-social Social: Good (88)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (88)

BA (Hons) English and Creative Writing @ Aberystwyth

reviewed on February 10, 2014

Aberystwyth is a wonderful little town to live and study in. My course has been engaging and very well taught by lecturers and seminar tutors who care about their subject and student success. If for any reason I've missed a lecture, I've found notes and materials available online almost immediately, so there's no reason to fall behind. With all of the online resources, I've never had to visit the library for study, but it is quite large and seems to be more than adequate. If it is not, the National Library of Wales is a very short walk from campus.
On my course, lectures are supplemented with seminars broken into smaller groups. These are used to discuss the texts and ideas we're studying in more detail and to share opinions. The creative writing portion of my course also has bi-weekly workshops where we must write a piece of prose or poetry to be read aloud. While it can be nerve-wracking at first, workshops are a fantastic opportunity to receive feedback and improve your writing.
Some of the academic buildings are pretty dated, but others are top of the line. The older buildings have lecture halls which are either extremely warm or very cold, so I recommend dressing in layers.
The university is on top of a long hill that overlooks town and the sea, and you'll definitely get exercise. I cannot recommend the campus to anyone who is physically disabled, as there are stairs everywhere and next to no ramps. Luckily, the Student Union has decent food, affordable drinks and, occasionally, some pretty fun events, so you don't always have to leave campus for a good night out. If you do decide to go to town, there is always a fleet of taxis waiting for students who don't wish to brave the walk back up the hill.
The student accommodation is pretty much what you'd expect, and has options for most price ranges. There are very basic budget rooms, standard bedrooms, en-suite bedrooms and brand new (but quite expensive) studio flats. All of the rooms have good internet access, large desks, good storage, and some even have washbasins. My flat has ten people with two toilets, two showers and a spacious kitchen. I was quite lucky to get one with a newly renovated kitchen and sofas. Most have a counter or table with plastic chairs. If possible, I recommend staying on campus rather than in the seafront residences. There were storms during January of this year that caused 3 story waves and severe damage to the promenade. The people living by the sea were evacuated several times and it was very stressful and inconvenient for many of them.
The town itself is quite small and isolated, but it has most of what anyone could need, and the surrounding countryside and the sea view make up for it. Aberystwyth's distance from other towns can occasionally prove quite troublesome. Unfortunately, the large number of students and permanent residents in a small area can make finding a job extremely difficult, even if you are well qualified and have previous experience. Budgeting personal savings and loans might become very important if you are not receiving financial help from your family. Also, If you enjoy concerts or other large events, you will be forced to take a 2-3 hour train ride, which can become prohibitively expensive. While I have not returned home to visit yet, I did go out of town for the holidays, and having to take a 6 hour train to London before a flight was exceptionally exhausting. Getting from America to Aber at the start of term with all of my luggage was even more taxing.
The social life in Aber is decent for such a small, town, but primarily revolves around drinking. There are two nightclubs and a truly ridiculous number of pubs, so you're bound to find something to do. The university also hosts societies for just about every interest, and more are forming all the time, so anyone will be able to find like-minded people to hang out with. For those who are interested in sports, the university has an endless number of teams (everything from football to quidditch) and an excellent indoor gym with a swimming pool, basketball courts, and other facilities. There are also a number of well-maintained outdoor fields and a track.
Overall, I've enjoyed my time at Aberystwyth so far. In just five months it has become a second home. If you can deal with the isolated location and want an excellent academic standard and a fun social experience, I definitely recommend it. I was afraid before coming here, as an international student paying higher fees and living farther from home, that it wouldn't be worth the time and effort it took to get here, but thus far I have not been disappointed!

Photo 1: The view from my bedroom during a particularly fabulous sunset.
Photo 2: The view of the Old College and the sea while standing in the ruins of Aberystwyth Castle.
Photo 3: A typical night out in Aber at Pier Pressure Nightclub. I'm the second from the right, pictured with other international students.

  • Aberepicsunset
  • Abersunset10.5
  • Pierpressure2
944 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Aberystwyth-header
Google Map - Aberystwyth
City Aberystwyth, UK
Established 1872
No. of Students 15000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (84)

Average Rating based on 8 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (81)
Icon-social Social: Good (86)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (87)