Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (92)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (93)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (98)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (52)

Master of Human Resource Management @ ACU

reviewed on July 28, 2015

Studying in Australia is challenging for the first time but it is rewarding in terms of the quality of teaching and the quality of life. Australia has given me the opportunity to expose to a dynamic and vibrant society in school environment and in the community where I live. The teaching style is totally different and I love the way students are encouraged to speak up and think critically. Studying in this country has brought me valuable insights of the diversity of international students and the community that shape up the Australian multiculturalism. I had experience lots of things and learn how to embrace the diversity needs of the community. Its been a great experiences to be part of this Australian community and I would encourage my friends back in the country to study in Australia.

  • Win_20150531_161009
  • Snapshot_2015324
2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (85)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (98)
Icon-social Social: Good (82)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (86)

Bachelor of Environmental Science @ ACU

reviewed on February 10, 2015

I went to the North Sydney campus, but there are other campuses like Strathfield. It's a small intimate university, which prides itself on their teaching staff.

I really liked the lecturers here, they knew their topics well and the university sometimes employs industry professionals to teach niche subjects like Environmental Impact Assessments.

There is a strong sporting culture at ACU, but its not mandatory to join. If you like field trips, a Bachelor in Env Sci is good for you as we went to places like Smiths Lake (NSW, Jervis Bay (NSW) and Bounty Island (Fiji). Each adventure was all about studying the natural phenomena of the environment. Really a pleasure to learn in the field and in the books.

I studied from 2005 and graduated in 2008. Opportunities with this degree are endless, simply because the skills learned are versatile. Be warned though, there is a chemistry focus to the course, because you'll need to understand concepts at a molecular level before applying the principles to the environmental system.

  • Envpicture
  • Shot-0108
  • Shot-0113
1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (50)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (71)
Icon-social Social: OK (64)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (75)

Bachelor of Commerce @ ACU

reviewed on May 8, 2014

Its a small university where you can easily get to know everyone if you really wanted to, the downside being there are very few ways to go about meeting people due to the lack of social facilities and activities.

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (78)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (74)

Bachelor of Exercise and Health Science @ ACU

reviewed on May 8, 2014

so far so good. its a great experience and just a great campus. The people on campus are really friendly which make it easy to ask for help if it is needed. The teachers are outstanding and explain things just right. I do enjoy my course and the subjects cant wait for more exciting things to happen

3 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Education (Primary) @ ACU

reviewed on May 6, 2014

I love the whole environment and atmosphere of ACU! The teachers are all about the students and care about their wellbeing. I feel like this is different because some universities are all about the grades and are strict on the academic side of things that they forget about engaging with students. It's a smaller university which makes it easier to get to know others. It's a modern yet comfortable campus and it's easy to find your way around. Overall, I love everything about ACU! Wouldn't want to study anywhere else.

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (68)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (82)
Icon-social Social: Not good (32)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (50)

Bachelor of Education (Primary) @ ACU

reviewed on May 5, 2014

ACU is great for my course, they are renowned for their education courses and I have found at prac experiences ACU is viewed quite highly. This will come in very handy when applying for a job.

Socially the Strathfield campus lacks excitement. There is a common room, and some extra curricular activity groups, however Strathfield is lacking in celebrations and social spirit. The most exciting social days at ACU are the stamp out stress days due to the sausage sizzle, jumping castles and photobooths. I will often attend the University of Sydney or the University of New South Wales social events instead to interact with other university students.

The facilities are well maintained. Many of the classrooms are quite modern. Recording devices used in lectures are useful when uploaded to echo to assist in studying or for when I am unable to attend lectures. The only criticism about the facilities and services are there are not enough study spaces and the wifi very rarely works flawlessly.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (73)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (70)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (50)

Bachelor of Education (Early Childhood and Primary) @ ACU

reviewed on May 2, 2014

My experience at ACU has just begun, so far i have enjoyed the social side the most. I have found it extremely easy to make friends and branch out. The teaching is fantastic, one of my lecturers in particular really knows who to make us interested and I highly enjoy attending that lecture and tutorial. The campus isn't all what I expected. I have found that although the library is big, it doesn't seem to be big enough, as it can sometimes be a challenge to get a seat. And although it is great to have free wifi, it is often slow and unreliable. But overall the experience so far has been great, I have enjoyed making new friends and am so happy to finally be studying what I want to do in life.

3 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (88)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (87)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (82)
0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (91)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (84)
Icon-social Social: Good (82)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (71)

Master of Education @ ACU

reviewed on April 30, 2014

i love uni, its so different compared to high school. I feel like I'm responsible for my own choices and have a more innovative way of thinking. Uni has created so many new opportunities for me career wise and also introduced me to some of the most interesting people. Although assessments get hard so many people are there to assist me and guide me through.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Not good (39)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (68)
Icon-social Social: Terrible! (0)
Icon-campus Campus: Not good (34)

Bachelor of Physiotherapy @ ACU

reviewed on April 29, 2014

I attend ACU for the Bachelor of Physiotherapy. I have the lovely experience of travelling up to 2 hours just to arrive at my university, especially awesome for my 8am lecture on a Monday morning (not!). The teachers for my units with small numbers (i.e. the physiotherapy units) are good as they care about their students and take the time to answer any questions you might have. Unfortunately, my two other units have a lot of students enrolled, and you just become another number. Overall for teaching, some units you will enjoy and value, and other units you will just have to grin and bear through it.

If you want to have a social life, be prepared to have to do everything yourself as this university does not have much in terms of clubs or societies. In total there are 3 societies (well at least I've been told), all relating to sports.That's great if you enjoy touch/football or have the money to spend for snow sports, but the fact that there are probably over 2100 students (campus has about 2200) which don't, it is very inconvenient!! I have spent so much money at the local food court because I have nothing else to fill my breaks with! There is an upcoming cruise (which I can't attend as it is an over 18's event only) which many people I mentioned it to did not know about because of the poor advertising (I've only seen one A4 poster on the bottom level where hardly anybody goes to). Other than that, there has been nothing socially exciting. My friend in my course has resorted to attending several other events through different universities!

Social experience in relation to course and making friends really depends on what you make of it yourself. I found when I first started, I did not have anybody to talk to except one person who I went to school with,but I eventually opened up to people who I had several classes with and now have people to talk to.

The campus is.... eh. First though I had when I saw it was like a primary school camp place. The cafeteria has cheap plastic tables/chairs/couch, the tables to write on are tiny and a game I enjoy is counting how many times someone drops their laptop or notes from the unstable "tables" in the biggest lecture room. Also, the campus isn't in one site, rather we have to travel to other buildings which are separated from the main block. There isn't a lot of places to hang out at the campus, with about 100 chairs in total to sit on outside. Other then that, the campus is just an average campus. Nothing is really "bad" but nothing stands out and makes you want to stay on campus any longer than you need to.

Overall, I go to Australian Catholic University purely for studying purposes only. The teaching is generally good, but that's as far as the appeal for the university goes.

11 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Acu-header
Google Map - ACU
City Sydney, Australia
Established 1991
No. of Students 17,000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (83)

Average Rating based on 25 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (84)
Icon-social Social: Good (81)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (77)