Icon-overall Overall: Good (70)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Not good (29)
Icon-social Social: OK (60)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (83)

MSc Finance (Finance and Investment) @ Durham

reviewed on May 8, 2015

Durham University is very prestigious in the UK. Most top firms here consider Graduates from DU among the elite crowd. The course (MSc. Fiance and Investment) is very mathematically challenging and intensive. However, it focuses more on Capital markets and ignores Financial accounting, M&A and Private Equity. The Finance courses here in general prepare you for research in the field rather than the industry. The University provides access to various resources in terms of Journals and research material which helps in building a strong platform in your learning curve. Most lecturers are helpful and are available to solve your doubts in their office hours. However, the assignments are quite challenging demand significant amount for completion.
Durham City is relatively smaller compared to the most famous cities in the UK. It has a homely feel since it is bustling with students. The opportunities for socializing are plenty however, places to visit such as clubs, restaurants, bars and cafes are limited.
The people from Durham are very friendly and accommodating and the city is absolutely safe. It is also very cost effective to live in Durham,compared to living in other cities , since most places are priced for students.
Durham has provided an international exposure since you get to mingle with people from every possible country. It has been a good experience so far in terms of global exposure .

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (92)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Good (85)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (87)

MA TESOL @ Durham

reviewed on March 21, 2015

RESPONSIBLE ACADEMIC STAFF, CONSIDERATE AND THOUGHTFUL,
RICH COLLEGE LIFE
CONVENIENT TRANSFORT
AMAZING SCENERY

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (80)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (79)
Icon-social Social: Good (79)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (50)

MBA Business Administration (Global) @ Durham

reviewed on January 30, 2015

You can use web, Skype and e-mails during your study. I am now conducting a group work through Skype and a discussion of the school website.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (74)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (72)
Icon-social Social: Good (73)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (86)

MChem Chemistry (Industrial Route) @ Durham

reviewed on December 22, 2014

Doing a science at university in general is great value for money, especially at Durham where the quality of the course is so high, but you enjoy the experience so much. The lectures are interesting and you can easily interact with the lecturer. I have spent loads of time in labs which is great fun, very different to school, and have a good portion of my contact hours in small tutorials where it is much easier to ask those questions that have been bugging you for a week.

I play sport for the university, another great way to meet new people and vary your social life a little more. University sport clubs also allow you to meet people in others years, which can be useful for getting advice on matters academic or social, or even day to day stuff like the best restaurants to visit or the best student housing companies.

The city is also great, small enough to walk everywhere but it also has everything you need just around the corner.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (89)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (57)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (79)

BSc Mathematics @ Durham

reviewed on October 15, 2014

Awesome uni, college system makes it easy to meet people.
Housing is expensive compared to other unis.
Can play any sport at any level due to college system.
Catered first year makes it easy to settle in.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (92)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (81)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (95)

BA (Hons) Music @ Durham

reviewed on April 17, 2014

I've have had a brilliant time so far. Durham is an amazing place, you can walk everywhere and my department is good as well.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (61)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Not good (31)
Icon-social Social: Good (75)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (76)

MSc Educational Assessment @ Durham

reviewed on February 28, 2014

I think this university needs more effort than others, we study under pressure because we have lots of assignments and long reading list for each module. However, it worths that because it has high classification as one of the best 100 universities in the world.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (47)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Not good (24)
Icon-social Social: Not good (25)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (73)

MA Educational Assessment @ Durham

reviewed on February 28, 2014

The test are marked openly. There isn't norms or clear strategies for earning good marks. The people including teachers does not accept 2nd language students and not eager to support them.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (90)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (85)
Icon-social Social: Good (84)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

MA Social Research Methods (Sociology) @ Durham

reviewed on February 10, 2014

As an International student, I was quite nervous when coming to Durham, many things seemed to be challenging to me. Surprisingly, I blended into the campus life really quick because of those kind people in our college.
Durham University's college culture is unique, diverse and attractive, that, what I think, is the soul of this university which keeps it full of vigour and outstanding.
As the city, Durham, I would say it is one of the most typical English town. Just google it and you'll realize I'm telling the truth.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (78)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (87)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (91)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (93)

MSc Finance (International Money, Finance and Investment) @ Durham

reviewed on November 8, 2013

Overall I feel satisfied with the quality

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Durham-header
Google Map - Durham
City Durham, UK
Established 1832
No. of Students 16355
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (79)

Average Rating based on 13 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (66)
Icon-social Social: Good (79)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (83)