Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (87)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

MSc Mechanical Engineering @ Glasgow

reviewed on May 25, 2015

University of Glasgow is a fantastic place to study and make new friends. The faculty and the lectures are experienced and helpful. University of Glasgow is one of the oldest universities in the English speaking world and have rich history behind it. The campus atmosphere is awesome especially in summer. Study time will get busy and challenging as we get occupied with assignments, project works and exams. Course materials are difficult to learn but you expect that at an MSc level. Overall, the experience has been good and I'm proud of my university.

  • Glasgow_uni_200382a1
  • Piston_pic
0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (96)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (88)
Icon-social Social: OK (64)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

MSc Mechanical Engineering and Management @ Glasgow

reviewed on May 20, 2015

I came to Glasgow to pursue a Master's degree in Engineering and Management. I arrived in January after spending one week in Colombia dealing with the UKBA in order to obtain my visa.

Upon arrival, I noticed a sudden change from being in a tropical area to an oceanic, cloudy and northern weather such as the Glaswegian. I knew I was going to spend a year there.

Temperatures were cold, but not that cold. Weather wise, rain and cloud and sometimes hail were more noticeable than a dry, nordic-continental -20 celsius cold (during the winter we barely went lower than -6 celsius).

University of Glasgow Campus has a lot to offer to any student, it doesn't matter who you are, what do you like to do, where do you come from, if you come alone, with friends or with your couple. From the high class Sports Centre to the amazing gardens within the Main Building, it is all about the experience. The library is also a hot spot: it was recently refurbished and includes more than 10 floors of quick, handy computers and books from all over the world in all over the subjects. In my free time, I would grab books and read. I even read some Latin American authors while being there. I read about war, about history, about science, about cartography and biology (my dissertation was about solar thermal energy and thermodynamics second law). In the summer, barbecuing at the Kelvingrove Park (across the street from the Uni) is a great option, the green colours I saw there were the most beautiful and varied I have ever seen in my whole life. The Scottish nationalism, how the city moves itself from and for the people, it's just a very interesting experience.

The academic program I coursed was both fun and challenging. We took the engineering part on James Watt South building, a somewhat old but state-of-the-art building offering an interesting engineering approach. The management courses were placed at the Adam Smith Business School, where both critical and interesting teachers were leading discussions among us.

At the end, I got the MSc with Merit. I was very close to the distinction, and I believe it has to do a lot with my English skills (I didn't know British English and American English were different prior my arrival to the UK). It was not the first time I was abroad: I attained a Certificate in International Business in Grenoble Graduate School of Business (France) in 2011, this was my semester abroad while coursing my BSc in Mexico.

Overall, I highly recommend Glasgow University for all the things it has to offer, including the weather. It makes you grow in an exponential way. The set up in my head now is completely different (I've been back in Mexico for more than three months already) and it has a high rank among the other European universities.

If you enjoy walking, reading, music (music is a must in Glasgow!), architecture, museums, arts and meeting new people, I highly recommend this program/university.

I hope you enjoyed this review, please contact me for further advice.

Kindest regards, and good luck!

David E. Reyna

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (66)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (68)
Icon-social Social: OK (50)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Educational Studies @ Glasgow

reviewed on January 30, 2015

Facilities such as the library and the gym are really useful. The quality of lectures depend on tutors, but basically the lectures are interesting and useful. However, there are not so many social activities to communicate with other students.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Not good (28)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Terrible! (11)
Icon-social Social: OK (50)
Icon-campus Campus: Terrible! (19)

BA (Hons) Communication Design @ Glasgow

reviewed on April 12, 2014

I studied in the GSA Singapore branch and because it was the pioneer batch, it was extremely messy. Our lecturers were all hired from Singapore but the lecturers didn't seem to understand what they were talking about and would contradict themselves countless times. When we went to Glasgow for a student exchange, it was much better over there. Overall, pretty disappointed with how it's all managed.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (92)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (93)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (91)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (81)

BSc Chemical Physics @ Glasgow

reviewed on February 10, 2014

Best choice I have ever made. Everything is great about this. I have no regrets

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (93)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (96)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (84)

BSc Psychology @ Glasgow

reviewed on February 10, 2014

The University of Glasgow is the least pretentious place i have ever seen. The amazing, talented lecturers, who teach us, are so approachable, helpful and always inserting their own research into lectures, keeping us up-to-date. The campus main building - "Hogwarts" is just stunning especially on a sunny day (yes, there is sunshine in Glasgow .... occasionally). It just feels good to be here. In my courses, we do quite a lot, but it doesn`t feel pointless, but rather like you are exploring beyond the text book and straight into practice. I am happy with the facilities as a whole, though the accommodation does need improvement (for the prices that have been set). Everyone is so helpful and nice.
The University has 3 student unions, which is unique and the GUU and QMU cater to different lifestyles: "the freaks" and "the geeks". The SRC deals with "changing the world" and for better or for worse, they are doing a great job.

  • 1238223_622264397793881_1065571836_n
2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (92)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (98)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (78)

BSc Psychology @ Glasgow

reviewed on February 10, 2014

This university is amazing! The lecturers are so interessting, all the information is up-to-date and the facilities are quite good. I am very proud to be in the University of Glasgow. Overall it is down-to-earth place, no snobbism, even though the university is in the top-100 in the world. As someone who studies 2 of the most demanding subjects - Computing science and Psychology, I am happy with the continuous assesment in both courses, the stable rate in which all the semesters work is allocated and the scope of the courses as a whole. The communication with lecturers, tutors and support survaces is easy and quite swift, considering the size of the university and the courses. Glasgow, though quite rainy, is warm and welcoming. The acommodation could be improved on and is definitely not worth the pricing, but the rest is just perfect. If you are a no-nonsense, anti-snobism kind of person, "Hogwarts" as we call it is perfect for you.

  • 1236232_10202273711788006_1887552241_n
  • 1238223_622264397793881_1065571836_n
2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (77)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

MA English Literature @ Glasgow

reviewed on February 10, 2014

Despite being an international student I do enjoy studying at the university of Glasgow.
I am having a fun time, the campus is beautiful and the teachers are friendly and interesting.
My social life is also very good, I like the night life of Glasgow a lot!

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (79)
Icon-social Social: Good (79)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

LLB Law @ Glasgow

reviewed on September 19, 2013

There are many different reasons for attending a particular law school. Some put significant weight to the rankings of various magazines or organizations. Other people will decide based on the experiences of their friends, following the trail set down in front of them. For me, I wanted to do something exciting and new (as if law school alone wasn't enough). I wanted to leave Canada and stretch my wings. I had never lived abroad but had always thought it would be an amazing and life changing event if the opportunity ever arrose. When I seriously started to considering leaving my place of employment to return to university in order to pursue a law degree, I suddenly realized that my opportunity was knocking loud and clear to accomplish two life-long goals simultaneously: Get a law degree WHILE living abroad.

For me, attending the University of Glasgow did not require a great deal of consideration. I had been to Europe previously and during my travels had found Glasgow to be a delightful city. I loved the down-to-earth feeling of the city, the friendliness of the Scottish people, and the strangely familiar culture and way of life. The law school at Glasgow is one of the highest regarded in the United Kingdom and the university itself has an excellent reputation world-wide. There was the allure of attending an ancient university and in this case, one founded before European knowledge of the Americas (1451). As much as I was interested in living outside of Canada for a period, languages have never been my strongest area of study. Therefore it was very important for me to attend a law school which taught in English and was located in an English speaking country. I did not want to have to learn a new language in addition to learning the law (which can often times feel like a new language).

Fast-forward 2 years and I had graduated with a degree in Scots Law. I couldn't be happier with my decision to attend Glasgow.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Glasgow-header
Google Map - Glasgow
City Glasgow, UK
Established 1451
No. of Students 23357
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (85)

Average Rating based on 9 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (78)
Icon-social Social: Good (81)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (85)