Icon-overall Overall: Good (80)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (77)
Icon-social Social: Good (76)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (50)

Bachelor of Science (Ecology and Conservation) @ JCU

reviewed on May 9, 2014

I love JCU, the small classes make it much easier to access help from a tutor or lecturer as apposed to a large class in a larger university. I also love how sustainability is incoperated into everything on campus from the promotion of riding to uni or the sustainability organisation on campus tropeco.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (85)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (85)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (71)

Master of Science (Aquaculture) @ JCU

reviewed on May 5, 2014

Very good practical teaching experience when you get to third year... before then there is mainly a lot of jumping into marine bio classes and working on conservation in a conservation minded university. This uni has one of the better aquaculture facilities, where teamed up with Midwest Bio-diesel, they are attempting to solve the energy crunch by using algae as a renewable source!!!
The entire science campus is really renew-ably minded, so much so you cannot purchase any lecture material unless, such as work books for specific subjects, as they are "Conserving paper" :P.
But all in all, when you can walk through the gum trees and listen to a bunch of Red-Tailed black Cockatoo's larking around over head, you can really relax in a busy university environment.

  • 2013-09-17_15.37.02_(2)
31 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (94)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (76)
Icon-social Social: Good (71)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (92)

Bachelor of Business (Accounting) @ JCU

reviewed on April 29, 2014

I am currently in my first year of University with a part-time job at Grant Thornton in Cairns. I love that my life is busy, as I am always keeping myself and my brain active. James Cook University is such a friendly university, everyone will go out of their way to help. This experience is life-changing and I would recommend it to everyone!

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of New Media Arts (Media Design) @ JCU

reviewed on April 23, 2014

I'm currently undertaking my first year at James Cook University in Townsville studying Media Design. Photography classes are a blast, with out crazy teacher, the prince of sarcasm and the king of killer blurred motion photographs. He even told us that we have permission to bring whatever we like into the lighting studios; horses, bikie gangs and other farm animals, as long as we cleaned up whatever is left behind.

The campus in Townsville is perfectly designed, the essentials, Woolworths and BWS liquor store a quick 5 minute walk (or two minute jog, if you haven't been devouring the pavlova at dessert) from the main halls. Also, the conveniently placed coffee stores and pedestrian crossing make Uni life bliss. I have met so many new friends from a diverse range of cultural backgrounds, which makes for interesting conversations, generally with the Americans asking what that foods are they are eating. Uni Club along with other social events such as Fishier Shield and O week also allow for new friendships and for some shameful photos to look back on.

In all, James Cook University in Townsville has so far been the ultimate experience for me. Not only has it provided me with skills and qualifications that will assist me in the future but it has also introduced me to new people, living independently and personal discipline. Although I'm still only in my first year out of three, it's already going so quickly and I'm sure when this incredible experience ends I'll find another degree to study just so I can experience is one more time!

  • Photo_3
  • Photo_2
  • Photo_1
2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (74)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Good (73)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (74)

Master of Information Technology (Computing and Networking) @ JCU

reviewed on April 23, 2014

If you love the tropical climate, JCU is the best university. This university excels in research too so if you want to explore, discover stuff, James Cook University has the facilities. The university's support services and teaching staff are excellent too. They know what they are teaching you. The course teaches you important skills you need for an IT career. It's not all theory but you actually do hands-on programming which is great.
Another good thing about JCU is the huge number of international students. You get to meet people from different cultures, broadening your horizon and perspective.
But most importantly, it doesn't matter what you're background is. JCU gives the feeling that knowledge, discovery and studying are more important matters.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (74)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (82)
Icon-social Social: OK (62)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (48)

Medicine Bachelor of Medicine @ JCU

reviewed on April 22, 2014

The lecturers are overall very nice and provide good comprehensive learning material. The amount of students in the course means that it is impossible to get to know everyone and bug class sizes mean little one on one help from lectures and tutors. The campus is good, however there are not enough rooms available and most of our time is spent trying to find somewhere to sit to study. The course overall is quite good and the people are nice and friendly :)

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (80)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (78)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (90)

Bachelor of Business (Management) @ JCU

reviewed on April 20, 2014

I started studying at JCU in Townsville in 2013, and I am loving it. The school, the people and the colleges are so amazing and I would not exchange it for anything. I love studying at JCU, and I am going to miss it when I graduate next year.

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (99)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (96)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (97)

Bachelor of Education Early Childhood @ JCU

reviewed on April 13, 2014

So far I have had the most amazing experience with JCU, The lectures are amazing and very helpful when it comes to assessment. The social aspect is great, as I have made many new friends who I am sure will be friends for life, I enjoy listening to live bands play whilst eating lunch at the social spot on campus, known as "the boat house". Finding my way around campus was tricky at first, however once I got use to the maps provided on campus and the downloadable app on my phone it became quite easy to navigate. Overall I am so happy with my chosen uni and can tell I am really going to love studying here over the next few years!! (on the first day of uni I got to hold a CROCODILE!! see pictures)

  • Uni_life
2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Jcu-header
Google Map - JCU
City Brisbane, Australia
Established 1970
No. of Students 17,000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (86)

Average Rating based on 8 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (87)
Icon-social Social: Good (85)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (78)