Icon-overall Overall: Good (78)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (87)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (93)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (75)

Master of Community Planning and Development @ La Trobe

reviewed on July 7, 2015

Studying planning at La Trobe Bendigo, a regional campus, has been a very rewarding experience as the campus has a strong presence in the region as well as it has very helpful partnership with local industry. The smaller the better, in the sense of making difference, easily settling in and making friends both locals and internationals. Added to the fact the my faculty's lecturing staff has significant presence in the planning industry in the region, I really felt even more confident and passionate every time professionals and other players, such as urban designers, environmentalists, developers, were invited into our classes and shared their experiences with us. Furthermore, there is lots of very interesting field trips that are very important not only for us to learn from the experience by solving real planning problems at the level of communities, shires and councils but also helped us get along with one another, which created relationships that evolved from mere classmates to friends and sometimes to family. There's lots of resources to assist international students on campus, the administrative staff is in general very approachable and helpful, and we just have to be more communicative. I strongly recommend anyone who's willing to study planning to choose La Trobe Bendigo.

  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (93)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (94)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (93)

Master of Social Work @ La Trobe

reviewed on May 19, 2014

The lecturing and most of the tutoring staff were great, approachable and willing to help.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (97)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (75)
Icon-social Social: Good (76)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (96)

Bachelor of Animal and Veterinary Biosciences @ La Trobe

reviewed on May 6, 2014

its been so good. i love the freedom to learn that university provides! and i love the sense of community the la trobe has, everyone is nice , friendly and approachable.

the work is hard, which is different from high school, however its balanced with most subjects being an interest to me

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (69)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (69)
Icon-social Social: Good (68)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (52)

Master of Business Administration @ La Trobe

reviewed on May 5, 2014

La Trobe University gave me the chance to experience a multicultural environment working with people from other parts of the world.
Having the campus in one of the most cosmopolitan cities in the world, enlightens the overall experience.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (81)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (68)
Icon-social Social: Good (77)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (65)

Bachelor of Accounting @ La Trobe

reviewed on May 5, 2014

The teaching at La Trobe is quite good, although some lecturers can be a little boring, most are engaging and very helpful. The tutorial teachers are great as they treat everyone as individuals and allow for discussion and questions.

La Trobe tries to 'break the ice' with their activities in 'O Week' but with such a big campus and also big classes it isnt the easiest environment to make friends in. But with the vast amount of (diverse) clubs offered it makes it easier. Also many students whom I used to go to school with attend because it is a local university so this helped many make friends. One great thing about La Trobe is the many groups and clubs which are active on campus. There are so many different clubs, yet awareness and acceptance of each other is high, we have already had a 'Gay Pride' week and also a 'Sexual Awareness' week which were both informative and well responded to on campus with themed activities for the week. There is also a bar on campus which increases the social aspect of uni.

La Trobe is a huge campus and the 'Lost on Campus' app doesn't do much to help, it shows the linear distance rather than the walking method. There aren't enough campus maps and signage is quite poor. Yet the campus is quite good. The Library is great, with three levels, allowing for talking, quiet and silent study which is beneficial for people who wish to study in peace. The wi-fi works MOST of the time, and it usually has good strength.

Overall La Trobe is a great university, but 'uni life' was a bit overrated. I expected to enjoy it much more, but it is fun and much easier than high school and with the supportive staff that I have encountered in my first semester, with some willing to help us find jobs and help with everyday issues, La Trobe provides a positive environment to be in.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (86)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Good (78)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (82)

Bachelor of Nursing (Pre-registration) @ La Trobe

reviewed on April 30, 2014

I found my university experience to be very beneficial and fun. Information and research material were easily accessible. I learned a lot from my course and I would definitely study again in the near future.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (63)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (84)
Icon-social Social: Not good (31)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (47)

Bachelor of Business (Accounting and Finance) @ La Trobe

reviewed on April 30, 2014

University was nothing what i expected. A person slowly throughout the first year discovers to be independent and depend on themselves only and not look around to be spoon fed like we are used to in our primary and schooling years. In university you have to find yourslef and believe in yousrself-its essentially all about you.I think that ultimately the university experience is dependent on how willing a person is to grow and embrace the new experience. For me the experience was difficult at first as i lacked confidence but university stretches a persons experiences. Overall univeristy has been a good experience.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (99)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Strategic Communication @ La Trobe

reviewed on April 29, 2014

Strategic Communication is a great course as it is diversified and practical for the modern technological world. Communication is of great importance in today's society and this course is fantastic in the way it teaches you to communicate to your audience in the most effective manner over a range of mediums, keeping up to date with technological advancements. However, improvements need to be made. Due to some unforeseen circumstances on the university's part, I do not have a lecturer for one of my core subjects and must instead listen to a recording from the previous year. This is irritating to no end as the professor who then controls the PowerPoint gets distracted with her own work and does not keep up with the recording. Due to lack of preparation we do not always listen to the entire lecture as well which annoys everyone within the lecture. A lecturer should be appointed or the professor should at least be paying more attention to the lecture at hand and ensures she keeps up with the recording. Despite this small hiccup the university and its Strategic Communication course is the best decision I have ever made and I wouldn’t trade it in for anything!

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (74)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (50)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (83)

Master of Education @ La Trobe

reviewed on April 29, 2014

I have so far thoroughly enjoyed my experience at uni, however being a new course structure there is very little organisation in many areas. This often leads to task confusion and required work being unable to be completed and unable to be accessed. There is also the presence of inconsistent marking schemes throughout the classroom.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (53)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (53)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Arts (History) @ La Trobe

reviewed on April 28, 2014

I am currently still at La Trobe University doing my Diploma of Arts and I'm loving it, I love meeting new people and all the teachers. This is my first year at university and I wish to come back next year and do child psychology because it's something I've always wanted to do, whilst attending La Trobe I've become aware that I'm no longer shy to talk to people I wouldn't normally talk to. Or the fact that I've learnt so much about history that I wouldn't have ever guessed could be true. All in all I'm having a blast at La Trobe and I hope to continue on my journey of becoming a psychologist with the help of my family, friends and the amazing teachers at La Trobe.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
La%20trobe-header
Google Map - La Trobe
City Melbourne, Australia
Established 1964
No. of Students 33,000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (85)

Average Rating based on 107 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (82)
Icon-social Social: Good (83)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (87)