Icon-overall Overall: OK (64)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (61)
Icon-social Social: Good (78)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (63)

Bachelor of Actuarial Studies @ MQ

reviewed on October 14, 2014

It has a nice open environment with lots of space.
The library is often full as there are few seats available.

Actuarial Studies is a very hard course, particularly in 3rd year where the difficulty ramps up several fold. Some of the lecturers are very good, but there are others who I have trouble understanding.

There is a wide variety of different foods available at Macquarie University and if that's not enough, Macquarie Shopping Centre is about 10 minutes away.

Although I am a very introverted person, I feel I've found many friends who I will be in contact with for a very long time to come.

4 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Good (70)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (97)

Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) @ MQ

reviewed on October 14, 2014

Macquarie University is full of potential students. The only drawback is you have to pluck up the courage if you want to meet more new friends.
The campus and the education system are simply fabulous !!! It comes as no surprise that it is rated 5 star.
The lecturers are very smart and most of them make us want to go for lectures.
Another thing I like the most is it stresses the importance of Egalitarianism, that makes each and everyone of us love this Uni.

  • 20121026_122104
  • 936507_603477846362977_25026428_n
  • 10621881_963049827054368_806825573_n
1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (77)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (67)
Icon-social Social: Good (85)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (97)

Master of Translating and Interpreting @ MQ

reviewed on October 13, 2014

Comfortable and spacious space for study. The campus is modern and environmental, like a big garden. The food on campus is much better than that in shopping center.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (77)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (88)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Master of Accounting (Professional) @ MQ

reviewed on October 13, 2014

If you don't want to waste your time and money in an accounting degree or uni life, and if you might want to make it as challenging as you can imagine, you should definitely go to MQ.
I have loans of homework needing most of your time to catch up, more and more difficult assignments and tests when progressing in my curriculum. And needn't to mention the epic fail rate in the final exams!
However, when you have huge enough guts to accept all these challenges, you can get a student life so awesome, which you will never be able to ignore.
Believe or not, among being buried in homework, I am quite enjoying the national park-like scenery in campus, and all the a-bit-crazy-but-so-cool events. And there is some nice student societies around.
I joined the FUCUS MQ since first semester, and having a good time spending with them.
After all, you probably want only one master degree, and want to make it count, right?

3 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (77)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (67)
Icon-social Social: Good (84)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Health @ MQ

reviewed on October 9, 2014

I studied a Bachelor of Health at Macquarie University between 2010-2013.

The Macquarie campus is great - if you are looking for a University near Sydney but not the busyness of a city then Macquarie is for you. The environment is wonderful and green, with plenty of outdoor areas to study, hang out or eat lunch.

I lived on campus at a college called RMC. It allowed me to have a great social network while I was at University. It was very easy to make friends and have both the academic and pastoral support I needed when I first moved out of home. And...the added bonus of being 5 minutes walk from all my classes!

I was initially drawn to Macquarie University because of its international opportunities and extra curricular focus. I was not disappointed. In my final year I was able to do one of my internship units overseas. It was an awesome experience both academically and personally. Macquarie works well at combining study units with practical experiences, such as PACE.

Throughout my degree I was involved in both small and large classes. I loved my smaller classes, where I was engaged more personally with my teacher and classmates. The units where there were many students in my classes I found it hard to be motivated and engaged as it was harder to create relationships with both the lecturer and other classmates.

If you are someone who wants to get more than just a degree, but an experience - Macquarie is a great place to go.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (63)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Not good (37)
Icon-social Social: OK (62)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (90)

Arts/Commerce Bachelor of Arts/ Bachelor of Commerce @ MQ

reviewed on October 3, 2014

Macquarie university provided me with a unique combination of degrees that no other university offered. I am thankful for that as I wanted to study something creative yet being grounded in business. This has given me the edge in applying for jobs as my skill sets are very adaptable and also make me creative in a corporate environment. Why Macquarie university was my preference was primarily for being so green and secluded from the city. I enjoy studying around nature and being abroad my whole life it made it feel like home.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my time Macquarie and constantly recommend to everyone looking to higher studies.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (56)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (69)
Icon-social Social: OK (54)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (70)

Master of Accounting (Professional) @ MQ

reviewed on October 3, 2014

Some subjects are really hard to get high score, and sometimes is easy to fail....

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (72)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (66)
Icon-social Social: Good (85)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (66)

Bachelor of Business Administration @ MQ

reviewed on September 10, 2014

Great living on Campus. The quality of teaching ranged from poor to outstanding. Social activities were great. Campus dramatically improved with the new Library. Plenty of activities are encouraged, especially exchange. Overall pretty good!

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Economics @ MQ

reviewed on September 8, 2014

I studied for an exchange year in Macquarie University thanks to an exchange agreement with the University of Strasbourg.

It was def the best year of my life, it brought me so much personally and also for my education. The courses I have taken were amazing and helped me to decide which Master I would be doing in France after this exchange year. I had the chance to be part of Global Leadership Program which helped me enhance my skills not only as a leader but even more to open myself on the World.

The persons I have met during my time there assisted me in growing up and to find a home on the other side of the World.

Even more than the education benefits I got in Macquarie were the benefits of travelling around Australia and also Asia, I became more independant and learnt a lot more about myself.

If anyone asked me if they should apply for an exchange year or not, I would not only recommend them to go but kick their asses so they do so because it is an experience of a lifetime.

Julien Nathan Balanqueux.

  • 293612_4599731865870_1770197849_n
2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (87)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (63)
Icon-social Social: Good (87)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (82)

Bachelor of Commerce @ MQ

reviewed on September 7, 2014

Uni life was excellent. It is important to find a good balance and take advantage of as many opportunities as possible from early on, don't wait until second year! Although your courses may be full of people, it is a great advantage to get to know you tutors and lecturers, not only will you engage and enjoy your classes more but can also be very helpful in the long run.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Mq-header
Google Map - MQ
City Sydney, Australia
Established 1964
No. of Students 37,000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (79)

Average Rating based on 74 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (76)
Icon-social Social: Good (76)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (82)