Icon-overall Overall: Good (72)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (82)
Icon-social Social: Not good (32)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (76)

Master of Commerce (Finance) @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

Studying finance at Macquarie actually worthwhile. The lecturer mostly people with professional backgrounds. The core units and its electives are useful for the future practices at the workplace. The assignments are challenging and the exams are demanding. Throughout groups presentation it is clear that every group trying to be the best. Its important to be in the same group with the high-archiever students that able to cooperate one another. The other thing is the communication, well, as like the accounting major, most of the student in the class are Chinese with varying degree of English fluency (i.e, willingness to speak english). The exams? As analysis based units, then understanding the concept is a must since the questions can be somewhat "tricky" ;)
Doing assignments (mostly in groups) and preparing for exams doesn't mean you wouldn't have time for other things to do. Those "gym-rat" would find it easy, City is only within half-hour reach, and for Asians - the Macquarie uni at Top Ryde is surrounded with Asian based suburbs

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (79)
Icon-social Social: OK (50)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (83)

Master of Accounting (Professional) @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

Macquarie University offers excellent courses which were taught by highly competent staffs. Administration was slightly complicated but I belief that it has improved overtime. It has a beautiful campus which boasts complete facilities for my study and an excellent gym as well. The only downside was probably due to the fact the size of campus is so large yet the only way to go anywhere is by your own two feet. I haven't had to go to classes in Y building but true to its name, Y so far?

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (87)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (78)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (91)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (85)

Bachelor of Speech and Hearing Sciences @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

It was pretty nerve recking moving to a new country for studies. But living on campus made the transition much easier. I always had friends around and it felt like a family away from home. They helped me settle down and find my footing here.
Although some units are tough and some assessments are really hard to do, in the end it does get done. I'm lucky because I know some other people who are in the same course and that allowed me to discuss any concerns about the assessments and about the unit itself, with them. There were seniors who were so willing to share their knowledge as well, which made things a whole lot clearer.
These years in uni are definitely my better years as I have had my eyes open to so many different people, different cultures and different kinds of knowledge. What more, I've made friendships that I'm sure would hold.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (67)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Not good (32)
Icon-social Social: OK (61)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (99)

Bachelor of Commerce @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

over all, my experience has been a pleasant one; teachers were warm and welcoming, helpful most times, if they arent in a rush :)

university is a beautiful place, so many mixed cultures, so much to learn, not just academically but in my opinion university is a place to groom yourself and prepare yourself for the outside world.

4 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (76)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (79)
Icon-social Social: OK (47)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (75)

Master of Accounting (Professional) @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

I enjoy uni, except for morning classes, if I didnt stay on campus, it would have been very hard to make friends. It is a nice and lively place to be in the day, although the hub can sometimes get annoyingly busy. Also parking is a pain.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (89)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (71)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Business Administration @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

It's only been a month since I've been studying at Macquarie but I am confident in saying that Macquarie has definitely made my life better! It offers students the perfect balance between studies, social life and alone time. The campus is beautiful and has so many different kinds of places for doing all sorts of things (may it be sports, eating, studying or just hanging with your friends). It's also just 30 minutes away from the city!

Another good thing about Macquarie is that your teachers expect you to be adults so it gives you so much responsibility and independence with how you spend your days.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (67)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (45)
Icon-social Social: Good (71)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (73)

Bachelor of Arts (Contemporary Music) @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

I learned a lot from Macquarie Uni, not only about the subjects I took but also about social skills and traits, friendship, hard work, etc.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (58)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (58)
Icon-social Social: OK (64)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (74)

Bachelor of Commerce @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

Macquarie had a great campus- plenty of spots on the grass to chill out with friends, just relax with a coffee between classes or study in their brand new study spaces and library. The social groups and clubs are generally pretty active and is a great way to get involved with uni life and meet really cool people from other courses that you might never have met otherwise. However, I have to admit that the lecturers an tutors for Commerce can be a real hit or miss since there are some genuinely good ones but many that I've had were pretty lacking and/or appeared unmotivated and not great at explaining their material. Overall, university life is an amazing experience no matter where you go!

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (73)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (47)
Icon-social Social: Good (66)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (92)

Bachelor of e-Business @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

Overall my time in macquarie university has been good. The teaching staff of IT department is average but still, overall its ok

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (80)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (83)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (98)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (98)

Bachelor of Information Technology (Software Technology) @ MQ

reviewed on September 4, 2014

All the intro classes for IT has really good lecturers and good lectures. Everyone is friendly so reach them out if you have coding problem or assignment problem :D

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Mq-header
Google Map - MQ
City Sydney, Australia
Established 1964
No. of Students 37,000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (79)

Average Rating based on 74 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (76)
Icon-social Social: Good (76)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (82)