Icon-overall Overall: Good (70)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (80)
Icon-social Social: OK (62)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (87)

BEng (Hons) Electrical and Electronic Engineering @ Newcastle

reviewed on May 12, 2015

it is a very good and reputed university and has a great social life .made lots of friend from different countries gave me a good exposure

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (73)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (62)
Icon-social Social: Good (75)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (76)

MSc Innovation, Creativity and Entrepreneurship @ Newcastle

reviewed on May 8, 2015

It was a wonderful experience studying at Newcastle University. The life in Newcastle is very laid back and calm. The campus is huge and amazing! ;)

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (77)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (50)
Icon-social Social: Good (76)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (77)

BSc (Hons) Economics @ Newcastle

reviewed on November 13, 2014

Halls are old fashioned and not that great (castle leazes)
Course is good but challenging.
nightlife very good

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (91)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (78)
Icon-social Social: Good (81)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (97)

MArch Architecture @ Newcastle

reviewed on October 8, 2014

In my opinion, my academic expirience was great but I think that it is necessary to have more interaction with local students.
Newcastle is a really university town. There are a lot of discos, clubs and cafes where you can meet people and have fun. If you want to be in a university environment you must go to the UNION. It is a kind of club inside the university where you can find nightlife and groups which organize activities and trips.If you don't try to meet English people and you just go out and be with people who speak your language you are not going to learn anything. You must try to be with English people and don't be shy.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (72)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (50)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (71)

BA (Hons) English Literature @ Newcastle

reviewed on July 16, 2014

Newcastle university is a fabulously vibrant place to attend, the nightlife is second to none, and the city centre campus is beautiful and conveniently placed within a 2 minute walk to Northumberland Street.
The campus itself is stunning, with the Armstrong Building and the grand Kings Hall as major standouts. The Robinson library ( a brief walk from campus) is well stocked, and a good place to focus when procrastination looms, (although I believe they should seriously reconsider the price of their cheesy beans panini's!)
My experience of university has been wonderful in terms of academia, however the pressures of living away from home and sharing household duties and bills have been stressful at times. My advice to anyone applying to Newcastle would be to experience the famous nightlife to the full in your first year! I am currently starting my third and final year and doubt I will have much time for a cheeky drink at Jam Jar! It is also essential to choose your flatmates wisely for your later years, and to remember when you sign for your second year house you will have only known your friends for three months! The best friends do not always make for the best flatmates.
For international students, newcastle is ideal. I believe that Newcastle's unique charm appeals far more than london universities, and offers a cost effective, yet sociable lifestyle. Jesmond is a melting pot of students, or the beautiful gosforth offers a quieter pace of life. The Robinson library is ideal for Skype sessions to family and friends from abroad, and the 24hour access means socialising and study can fit into your schedule!

  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (84)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (85)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BSc (Hons) Chemistry @ Newcastle

reviewed on June 8, 2014

Teaching is good, don't make use of all available resources. Course is well structured and interesting. Newcastle is a great city with a very close social scene

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (69)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Not good (43)
Icon-social Social: Good (68)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (95)

MEng (Hons) Chemical Engineering @ Newcastle

reviewed on February 10, 2014

I am studying as an international student here. for one year The university structure is amazing! Very modern buildings, a lot of facilities, and I felt very welcome during the freshers week ( which is definitely worth it). About accommodation, mine is lovely! I have a 5 person flat, don't have to share my bedroom... but I have some friends on the same program that I am that don't have such a good accommodation, so it is important to check it before because you might get to a bad one.
Nightlife in Newcastle is just great! You will find parties everyday and for a really good price!
About teaching, I feel sometimes that my time would be better spent if I just had stayed at home.. some classes are just pointless, although there are some exceptions.

  • 2013-09-18_10.26.01
  • 2013-09-23_15.37.01
  • 2013-10-31_17.15.45
1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (94)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (88)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (87)

MSc Cloud Computing @ Newcastle

reviewed on February 10, 2014

I've been to two universities for my undergraduate studies. And trust me, none of them were as close as fun as Newcastle is. Even though the university or the city themselves are not that big, there's some electric atmosphere here, that's best described as a crossroads of time. The old and the new melt and mesh in so seamlessly that it leaves one to wonder how it's all done.
First impressions of the university (and the city) are as such, to be honest, not so impressive. But what it lacks for in first impressions, it makes up for in the rest of the time you're there. And I've heard from other uni students living in bigger cities, that they would want to stay in Newcastle because of this very reason.
The staff and faculty at the university are helpful from day one. All of them are super professional (well, there's always the one odd case, and there are some at this uni as well) when it comes to helping the students out.
My tutor is a funny (dark humour, mind you) and witty guy. He's treated me like he was a psychic and had mental healing powers. I know that most of my problems are solved because he gives it his 100 percent.
My teachers were always up to date and knew what the students don't need to learn. Their "how the real world works" approach made me feel confident that there's still some hope out there for academicians.
Coursework and exams - went like a breeze. Everything was so clear cut and if I ever needed any help, the teachers are always there. If they are not available due to some reason, the online student portal has all the help that one could need. For academic or non-academic purposes.
Newcastle is famous for its nightlife. I have to say, reality is no far from the rumour. I was surprised to find that a city the size of Newcastle had so much to offer in terms of extra curricular and night outs. It's been a long time here and I still have not discovered all the places that I could. My friends feel the same way. Some of them are natives (Geordies), and they too, feel the same way. That's just how amazing Newcastle is. Everywhere you go, there's always something going on. And by the way, it's easy to go anywhere, there's excellent transport in the city.
After I'm done with the university, I don't really have to worry about it. Because the careers service in the university is always keeping me up to date with the newest job postings and career related events taking place around the city and the country. I'm very confident about finding a good place to work after I'm done with the studies.
Well, I hope my review was good enough to convince students to come here and be part of the amazing university!

  • 1653689_661031317294808_11575105_n
  • 1625577_602715396466538_378411194_n
  • Wp_20131108_008
0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (80)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (62)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (88)

MA Media and Public Relations @ Newcastle

reviewed on January 28, 2013

Study in the UK is more about theory rather than Practice no matter what the university you are in. However, there are few practical modules that you can choose to explore. I have registered in film module and like it a lot while not so satisfy with other compulsory theoretical modules.

But I am enjoy my life here very much. I met a lot of good friends both Thai and Foreigners. The locals are fine and their accent is not that bad though it is worse than Londoner.

Overall it is a good place to stay especially if you do not like crowded city like London. The campus is nice and you will have everything that you need here.

Good experience!!!

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Newcastle-header
Google Map - Newcastle
City Newcastle, UK
Established 1963
No. of Students 19700
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (79)

Average Rating based on 9 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (66)
Icon-social Social: Good (85)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (86)