Icon-overall Overall: OK (53)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (63)
Icon-social Social: Not good (29)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (51)

MPharm (Hons) Pharmacy @ Portsmouth

reviewed on June 1, 2015

Portsmouth is kind of a small uni. You get to know a lot of people in a short amount of time because you see the same faces over and over.
There are only 2 majorly good clubs so nightlife in ports is not that great. But if you travel to Southampton by the train or bus the nightlife is usually good there.
But there is a variety of bars especially on Albert road. Where you can get rock-indie kinda music.
Portsmouth has its nice area (south sea) with the beaches, outlet shopping centre. And it's rough areas (fratton,summerstown) areas that u should probably avoid walking alone at night.
Not really much in the shopping centre in Portsmouth, like have you heard of a city that doesn't have a Apple Store? Well that's Portsmouth for you.
I study Pharmacy so I can only talk about the Standard of teaching on my course. pharmacy is pretty tough, there are some lecturers that are soooo passionate in what they are teaching which can make a topic you think is boring and make it unbelievably interesting, and there's some lecturers that you can barely stay awake when they are talking. You will get assessed quickly in the 1st year. In the 1st term you undergo maths, bio and chemistry assessments.
Overall I feel the teaching is goods and the lecturers do try to prepare you for your end of year exams from the start.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BSc (Hons) Psychology @ Portsmouth

reviewed on June 10, 2014

My experience at the university of Portsmouth has been everything I could ever hoped it would be. I'd always known that I wanted to go to university so when I finally got to go, Portsmouth did not disappoint.

There are many societies for people to get involved in from belly dancing, martial arts, nail art and many more, some more obscure than others but certainly something for everyone! I have made so many friends from going to uni and it definitely makes the whole experience even more enjoyable. The nightlife is always great! There's student nights every night, all offering great deals and with so many clubs and pubs to choose from. I'd have to say Tiger Mondays and Astoria Fridays are my favourite nights. There is also a student event called survivor, we have a few of them a term, that's always a lot of fun!

The uni buildings are all within close proximity of each other so you haven't got to trek from one lecture to another. The buildings themselves have everything you need in them, especially for my course (Psychology) there's all the facilities you need such as lab rooms and places to conduct your own studies. For Psychology, the teaching is everything I'd wanted it to be, the lecturers are enthusiastic about what they are teaching you which makes learning so much more appealing knowing that the person teaching you loves what they do.

Overall my experience at the University of Portsmouth has been extremely pleasant and although I have only just got home from my first year, I can't wait to go back for my second year! I would definitely recommend this university to anyone, Portsmouth is such a beautiful place as well, it has plenty of restaurants and shops and of course there's the beach! What's not to love?

  • Boofjobciaazglf
  • Dhwdjhsd
  • Img_1436
4 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (82)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (86)
Icon-social Social: OK (50)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (84)

BSc (Econ) (Hons) Economics @ Portsmouth

reviewed on June 2, 2014

Teaching quality is very good with real world applications. Theory based learning with strong emphasis on employability skills. Social life is good with university embedded in the city.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (98)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (76)

MSc Project Management @ Portsmouth

reviewed on March 25, 2014

Best part of my study life, totally over what I expect for! The university is awesome with the best facilities in the world. Moreover, the lecturer are from different background so we get to know more knowledge which we couldn't get it from the book!

  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (66)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (66)
Icon-social Social: Good (82)
Icon-campus Campus: Not good (41)

BEng (Hons) Petroleum Engineering @ Portsmouth

reviewed on February 10, 2014

it was not a good experience at this university but any way the college of mine is alright

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BSc (Hons) Business Information Systems @ Portsmouth

reviewed on February 10, 2014

I went to university to study which will help to get good in the future. As student i love university which is great for students to have fun make friends and graduate with bachelor degree which we need this days to get job.One thing i don't like at university is the lectures i find them very boring as sometimes the lecturer are not making lesson fun and they go with lot of texts and slide which makes me to don't attend lectures anymore. Generally i enjoy university as student which there is lot to do as student with great sport societies to join like sport and many more. Student union is really good offering a lot of events and entertainment for student to go out and have fun. This my experience at university which is great to be student and live those three years as student is very enjoyable for me.

  • 335002_2568783944706_407983154_o
2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (90)

BA (Hons) German Studies @ Portsmouth

reviewed on November 25, 2013

It is one of the most amazing experiences of my life. University is what you make of it and University of Portsmouth provides you with so many opportunities to develop yourself further and have fun.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (92)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (92)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (99)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (78)

BA (Hons) International Business @ Portsmouth

reviewed on November 17, 2013

The University is wonderful,it is full of excitement and a way to our career.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (77)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (69)
Icon-social Social: OK (63)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (75)

MBA Business Administration @ Portsmouth

reviewed on November 14, 2013

I was very happy with the course.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (99)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (80)

MA Creative Writing @ Portsmouth

reviewed on January 29, 2013

It has been one of the best decisions I've ever made in my life, studying at Portsmouth. There is a reason why Portsmouth is a home to many famous writers such as Dickens, Sir Conan Doyle, and Kipling. The seaside is certainly one of the best places to write in the summer. The town and its people are very friendly, especially to students because they know that the city is known as one of the Student towns. Making friends are fairly easy and there are no specific places nor tips because you can make friends everywhere and anywhere. The library and the University's facilities are adequate. I cannot comment on the Halls, as I do not live on campus. The overall experience was priceless. Not only did I earn a Master's Degree with a Merit, I also made many new friends whom I believe will be friends for a lifetime. I don't think there's anything I could have asked more from this whole experience and i am so thankful for all the things that I've gained from it. If I could, I would do it all over again.

3 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Portsmouth-header
Google Map - Portsmouth
City Portsmouth, UK
Established 1992
No. of Students 22000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (87)

Average Rating based on 10 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (87)
Icon-social Social: Good (82)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (78)