Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (79)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (93)

Master of Teaching (Secondary) @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on May 9, 2014

A great relaxed environment with friendly and helpful staff. Lecturers and tutors are extremely helpful and highly academic.

Teaching course is informative and has a great balance of fun and academics.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (87)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (99)
Icon-social Social: Terrible! (1)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (53)

Bachelor of Psychology @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on April 30, 2014

My uni experience has been both good and bad. The negativity is coming from my peers; the bullying has carried over from high-school, it seems. It is completely juvenile and disgusting. The positives seem to outweigh the negatives; the lessons are intriguing, and being able to chose what i study means in doing exactly what i want. My helpful advice to others would be to chose a degree that you love, and if you aren't sure about anything... ASK!

The teachers/lecturers are so down to earth. They know what they are talking about, but rather than talking to you like a superior, they talk as if you are their peer. Everyone who I have talked to on campus staff has been helpful and welcoming.

The campus is accessible and easy to navigate around, the only problem i have is the mosquitoes that aim to consume each student's blood until they have none left.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (94)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (93)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Arts @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on April 25, 2014

At first I was extremely nervous about heading off to university, I was anxious about lectures, tutorials, meeting new people and handling the pressure. However, from the first day I attended uni it has been amazing! Everyone I've spoken to has been lovely, helpful and friendly. The teachers do a great job, and really seem to actually care about the students. There also isn't really that much pressure. Obviously, before a test or while doing assignments I get a little bit stressed but no where near as much as I thought or expected. The HSC was more stressful! The campus is beautiful, and has some amazing food! The two bars are great also. All in all, i can see why university is sometimes viewed as the best years of your life! I would recommend newcastle university to everyone!

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (85)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (92)
Icon-social Social: Good (80)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (70)

Bachelor of Speech Pathology @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on April 15, 2014

I completed a tertiary enabling course at the university and then got accepted into the course I love. I love doing speech pathology at uon. I am in my fourth year. The degree is almost perfect with exception to a few subjects that some of us feel are unnecessary. The degree is now a level 8 qualification meaning that all undergrad students automatically graduate with honours without having to do an honours project. It is amazing! I really feel that the degree is beneficial.
On another note, the university itself functions well however there is definitely need for improvement in terms of parking space and shelter when it rains.
The cafés are awesome however, Mamadukes is definitely my favourite cafe ever invented, it is warm and cosy with a fireplace and the pricing and customer service is perfect. I love meeting my friends for coffee around campus and the atmosphere is certainly full of entertainment and great views of trees, a fountain, luscious grass and 2 awesome libraries.
I'm so glad I'm attending newcastle Uni.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (96)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Medical Radiation Science (Nuclear Medicine) @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on April 14, 2014

I have fallen in love with university life. I love what I am studying and cannot wait to get into the work place. The best thing would have to be the awesome new anatomy labs, so interesting and an wonderful way to learn.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (79)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (92)
Icon-social Social: Good (75)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (58)

Bachelor of Food Science and Human Nutrition @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on April 13, 2014

If you're passionate about the bachelor of choice, then you will enjoy all aspects of the journey much more.
The campus could still see a few more improvements. As could the social life of the campus. Although the lecturers and staff of the university are helpful and can typically teach in a smaller class size.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (72)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (59)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Biomedical Science @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on April 11, 2014

I loved the uni as soon as I started. It was a little daunting at first, but once I settled into a routine, I realised that I wouldn't be happy doing anything else (until I graduate!). The people are all amazing and unique, and there is always something new to find, explore, and experience. Joining "The U" was also the best decision I made as a new student- it gave me access to free/cheap events, and tonnes of advice, discounts, and various other tidbits. Everybody loves the parties, but I personally love finding a quiet place in the Auchmuty library to study- I don't think I've ever been in a place so quiet!
Most of the lecturers are pretty amazing too- and they're not as intimidating as people think! They're usually really nice and happy to help you out any way they can, and it's easy to get in contact if you look them up on the university website, where you can find a contact number, email address, and learn a little more about the person who's teaching you.
It's also been really great being linked in with the disabilities service (due to my own struggles with diabetes and mental illness). They've been an amazing support, and have been incredible with alternate exams, special considerations, and generally making uni life easier when facing those difficulties.
The only real issue I've ever had is the mosquitoes! The lesson there is to never forget your aeroguard!

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (77)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (50)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (92)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (87)

Bachelor of Food Science and Human Nutrition @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on April 11, 2014

My experience at the University of Newcastle (Ourimbah) has been awesome! The campus is very warm, on campus accommodation is conducive for study, and has a fair lot of social activities organised that we can get involved in as well and do volunteering. I am very content with this. One of the downfalls though, is the transportation. As we do not get much public transport around here. Nonetheless, I feel that the campus is well organised, such that moving from class to class is a smooth experience.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (67)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (67)
Icon-social Social: Good (66)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (85)

Master of Teaching (Primary) @ University of Newcastle

reviewed on April 8, 2014

I had a great learning experience, both good and bad. It was a completely different culture & environment for me, as an international student. The campus itself is serene and is surrounded by tall trees. I appreciate the nature, especially walking to class & seeing the family of ducks and exotic birds. I lived on-campus & had an amazing experience. I made friends with a number of Australian students & also other international students. I've learned a lot about their culture & traditional food, in particular. I do feel that it may be harder to talk to certain students as they may not have been exposed to people from different cultures before or do not possess a good command of English. Even so, I've made conscious efforts to be humble & easy to talk to regardless. This allowed me to be more sociable to others & adapt better.

The university also organizes a lot of events, cultural, sports, etc. I enjoy the cultural ones the most as I am a huge culture vulture. My favourite would be the International Food Festival held every year at Bar on The Hill. There would be a huge spread of all sorts of food varieties. It's amazing to be able to sample cuisines from different parts of the world in one space.

The lecturers in uni are generally friendly & rather informal at most times. They are usually very helpful. You will find that some lecturers are more flexible towards assignment due dates while others are extremely strict. The programme itself is enlightening. i appreciate the time I spent going on placements. It was such a huge eye-opener for me, observing & teaching the classes. I've never met such diverse groups of students before. The placements were also tough but it felt good when I accomplished it.

Overall, studying in this uni is the best experience I've had so far in my life. I learned a lot about the environment which I was in & it also taught me to be independent in a land, away from home.

  • 1173889_10151621642760848_919603876_n
  • 1006066_10151585942045848_1282685718_n
  • 1009849_10151621824720848_1747656717_n
1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
University%20of%20newcastle-header
Google Map - University of Newcastle
City Newcastle, Australia
Established 1965
No. of Students 36,000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (85)

Average Rating based on 9 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (81)
Icon-social Social: Good (78)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (83)