Icon-overall Overall: Good (86)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (76)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (97)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (50)

DClinDent Clinical Dentistry (Oral medicine and Oral Pathology) @ USyd

reviewed on May 1, 2015

I graduated with DDS degree in 2004 from Ajman University of Science and Technology in AbuDhabi (UAE). Today I would like to specialize and continue with an academic career that will make me first class surgeon who will be able to make a meaningful contribution in the Sultante of Oman. After graduating, I completed one year internship in 2006 at AL Nahdha Hospital in different units such as restorative dentistry, paedodontics, periodontic, oral and maxillofacial surgery, special needs dental clinics and primary dental health care. Despite being in different units and dealing with different cases but I could notice that a lot of patient suffered from different oral diseases and being present at theatre where reconstructing procedures for cancer of the jaw were taking place, demonstrated the of teamwork and clear communication between the surgical team . This experience showed me the range of responsibilities , showing how stressful this career is and the importance of maintaining a balance between work and personal life.
During my current work as General Dental Practitioner, I have special interest in seeing oral surgery ,medicine and pathology , dental trauma cases trying to diagnose them, discuss their conditions with my colleagues at OMFS department and follow them up. Because of my desire to learn all I could with regard to OMFS, I applied for attachment and granted at AL Nahdha Hospital on October 2013 confirmed my wish to study Oral and Maxillofacial pathology . Many of the conferences in this specialty I have attended and the most interested workshop I attended .
I am excited to enter pathology course and I want to find a program that offers the opportunity to train in a well structured and well administered environment with pathologist who love to teach. Finally,a perceptive mind that selects me will receive an optimistic, enthusiastic and intellectually curious individual who will work tirelessly to serve both patients and colleagues.

3 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (83)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (66)
Icon-social Social: Good (85)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (77)

BAppSc (Phty) Applied Science (Physiotherapy) @ USyd

reviewed on October 27, 2014

I studied physiotherapy at the Cumberland Campus of Sydney Uni. It's located in Lidcombe, about 16km west of the city centre. It's actually located next to the largest cemetery in the Southern Hemisphere, but it's also got to be one of the most beautiful cemeteries! Some students enjoy walking or bike-riding around this scenic cemetery!

You can take a 20-25 minute walk from the train station, or catch a 5 minute bus ride to the campus. The campus itself is located in a quieter suburb. This is a good and a bad thing. It's good because there are fewer things to distract you from studying like pubs/clubs. It's bad because the campus can seem boring, because once you finish your classes for the day, you have nothing fun to do to relax, so the only thing to do is either to study or to go home!

The lecturers and tutors are generally helpful, and quick and willing to answer your questions. The library is somewhat small, but adequate to help with studying and researching well. The anatomy labs are great fun and well-staffed.

The area size of the campus is quite small, which is a good thing because you don't have to walk far to get from one class to another like in a bigger campus. It also means you can meet and bump into your friends from other courses often.

There's a nice gym with a basketball court, an oval, and nice green lawns to sit and have lunch on. Unfortunately, there are not many places selling food, and food is generally on the expensive side on campus.

Overall, it's a great little campus that would seem isolated and boring to some people, but its small size means it's convenient, easy to get to know people well, and helpful for not being distracted with studies!

  • 100_1890
  • 100_1758
  • 100_2026
0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (60)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (76)
Icon-social Social: Terrible! (13)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (74)

BSc Science @ USyd

reviewed on October 13, 2014

Good academics, challenging materials. You're need to study a lot to pass a unit. But bad for socialising

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (89)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (50)
Icon-social Social: Good (75)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (60)

BN Nursing (Advance Studies) @ USyd

reviewed on September 5, 2014

It is quite a huge change, but as you pass first semester, you start to ease into it. Uni is hard but it is pretty good due to the people you meet, they make your experience a whole lot better

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (85)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (88)
Icon-social Social: Good (80)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (88)

MCOM Commerce (International Business) @ USyd

reviewed on May 28, 2014

Nice city, nice campus, you can always learn what you want if you really want to study.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (73)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (67)
Icon-social Social: Not good (32)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (49)

MN Nursing @ USyd

reviewed on May 4, 2014

I just started Sydney University this year. I have been really busy since the course started. there are a lot of reading in my nursing course. and assignments due every few weeks and defers my focus on reading to researching on assignments.

My teachers have been helpful, but they are also very busy. one class after another, so we don't get to ask many questions after class.
The same for classmates. Everyone have been busy with their study load and always rush off after class and the only time we get time is during group meetings.

I wish our lecture notes could be out few days earlier. They only upload today's lecture in the morning. which is hard to me to print, because the printer is not in my room and people might still be asleep. I like to print lecture notes and write on them during the lecture. for this course it has been hard for me to be able to do that. wouldn't uni want us to have a pre- read of what we going to be talking about in the lecture ? why do they need to hid the lecture notes until the last minute ?

also i did few online quiz and i get the result back but ones i got wrong were not advised. i would really like to know which one i got wrong and what are the answers to it.

Sydney nursing has its own campus for Nursing. it is not as renovated as the Main campus but less walking for me. because is just one building with few levels.

Overall i find the work load is a bit overwhelming, so i don't focus on social or making friends. Just hope to pass the course and not delay the completion.

I have shared my thoughts in detail and i hope my uni will not get to read this. but these are my true feeling about my current course.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (74)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (50)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (98)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (93)

BSc Science @ USyd

reviewed on May 4, 2014

University is great because it feels as though you don't need to compete with anyone but yourself when it comes to exams, unlike high school. There isn't as much pressure to do amazingly well because even with a pass you'll still get the degree. I love that everyone is friendly and it's so easy to make friends because all you need to do is strike up a conversation. The facilities and atmosphere on campus is beyond words. It honestly doesn't even feel like you're going to study but rather going out with friends.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (86)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (76)
Icon-social Social: Good (76)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (75)

BOH Oral Health @ USyd

reviewed on May 3, 2014

Good course only if you are into teeth. You travel between syd dental hospital, westmead hospital and usyd during class times. It's a hands-on course: 45 contact hours per week. It's quite a hands-on so you can't bludge around. Like I said previously: do it only if you love everything about teeth, otherwise you will be stuck learning about teeth and gums for the next three years

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (71)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (60)
Icon-social Social: Good (77)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (81)

BSc Science @ USyd

reviewed on April 28, 2014

Was warmly welcomed by lectures and currently studying students. All staff were understanding of first-year students and their lack of knowledge about university life, however my biggest criticism was that there is a fragmented communication between students and faculty advisors when students attempted to inquiry about subject selection and courses. However, most subjects had online forums which were successful and very helpful in facilitating understanding of topics. Social events were abundant and engendered the experience of making friends much easier.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: OK (64)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (69)
Icon-social Social: OK (50)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) @ USyd

reviewed on April 25, 2014

I was a little disappointed with Sydney Uni, despite it's amazing campus, the faculty's I've experienced have boasted many tutors and a few lecturers but many if not all tutors are current 4th year students, who mostly have no idea how to teach, and it makes it much harder for students to learn, and therefore achieve satisfying marks. It also lacks enough practical experience in earlier years for courses that require them and make it harder for students unsure of their decision, to really feel comfortable in their desired course.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Usyd-header
Google Map - USyd
City Sydney, Australia
Established 1850
No. of Students 50000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (82)

Average Rating based on 23 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (75)
Icon-social Social: Good (82)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (85)