Icon-overall Overall: Good (71)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: OK (50)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (71)

Bachelor of Health Science @ UWS

reviewed on May 9, 2014

I am currently at the university of Western Sydney at the Campbelltown campus and I'm really enjoying it, I am finding the teaching of an extremely high quality and there are many activities to participate in during your down time.

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (67)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (51)
Icon-social Social: Good (79)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (81)

Bachelor of Social Science @ UWS

reviewed on May 8, 2014

I love that there's a whole lots of opportunity to get involved in clubs, and lots of study support like PASS programs and UWS Mates. The facilities are good enough for my needs. A couple of my units are brilliant in terms of the lectures, the organisation of the resources and assessments, and the availability of information, however I also have some units in which I have to spend a lot of time digging through a huge amounts of material that isn't adequately categorized, and also where lecturers often wonder away from the content. The experience overall has been good.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (66)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (49)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (98)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (78)

Master of Occupational Therapy @ UWS

reviewed on May 8, 2014

I really like the campus because it's easy to get around and there aren't many stairs unlike other universities. Also, the walk between buildings is manageable. The social life is great people are so nice and relaxed and they want to be your friend. People want to hang out and laugh and there's no competition everyone is just calm and collected. Education wise it depends on the student I guess but I myself have made some good friends that encourage me to do well. Some lecturers are a bit iffy but there are ways to give feedback and make changes to better the learning experience. Overall, it's a great university despite being in the western suburbs and I don't understand why there's such a negative stigma attached to the university. I mean we get free ipads isn't that enough incentive to try it out! :)

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Master of Accountacy @ UWS

reviewed on May 8, 2014

It was great! The teachers helped me out whenever I needed it, the students were friendly, and most of all, the course was great and benefited me in many ways in life.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (100)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Awesome! (100)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

BBC Business and Commerce (Hospitality Management) @ UWS

reviewed on May 8, 2014

The Uni is overall amazing! I go to parramatta campus and its such a unique an beautiful campus! I thoroughly enjoy my study and love the way they teach us! They always have different occasions every week and always giving away food and goodies! This pleases everyone and makes our experience excitable and want to go to Uni to study and make a difference in our lives!

  • Image
  • Image
  • Image
0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (68)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (49)
Icon-social Social: Good (80)
Icon-campus Campus: OK (55)

Bachelor of Medicine/Surgery @ UWS

reviewed on May 3, 2014

The University of Western Sydney opened up its doors to medical students in early 2008. The aim of the university is to provide medical practitioners in the Greater Western Sydney. The university owns a number of campuses, although the medical school is located in Campbelltown Campus, about 50km away form the Sydney CBD. Luckily the location is pretty accessible with car as well as public transport (mainly the train).

Teaching wise, because the medical school is considered pretty 'new', I personally still feel as if the course still needs a few things to be figured out. I'm not saying it's bad, but I think a few improvement here and there is needed. And so far, they have done a good job applying new ideas for the younger cohorts.

The school of medicine social life is pretty damn impressive. There are plenty of events, not only all-year-round parties, but also medical-related seminars ran by different university clubs mainly ran on Monday evenings. Although, because of our campus location which is pretty far from the CBD, there isn't many hang out spots close by. Yes, the campus itself is pretty self-sufficient, but party-goers may not enjoy it so much.

Overall, I enjoy my study in UWS School of Medicine.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (84)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (73)
Icon-social Social: Good (77)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (86)

Bachelor of Medicine/Surgery @ UWS

reviewed on May 3, 2014

This course has been academically challenging with the sheer amount of information there is to learn. However, the content is very relevant and reflects a modernisation of the culture of medicine. The campus itself, is very comfortable to move around and enjoy. Mostly due to its relatively small size and landscaped areas. The design of the course makes it very easy to grow strong friendships with people throughout the course. And the lecturers are quite accessible to ask questions about their lectures, or the topic. Overall, the course is really enjoyable and strong in its approach to building a well-rounded medical practitioner.

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (78)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Not good (28)
Icon-social Social: Good (83)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (71)

Bachelor of Medicine/Surgery @ UWS

reviewed on May 2, 2014

This university is flawed but not unloved. It is still young and still needs a lot of tweaking to get maximum good effect of the students. I feel it is underfunded by the government yet it's poor administration uses the funds for useless and unnecessary gimmicks. I also feel that this university can attract good and intelligent students but they do not utilise and appreciate them fully. The student support system appears to be very plastic and "wash my hands if something goes wrong" and they do not have genuine concern for their students. They try to appear concerned but more often than not it is their professional mask. The admin people are also very legalistic and anything that goes against policy on paper would be outrightly rejected without any sensible consideration, showing a lack of compassion nor flexibility. There is also a very fake and self righteous left wing sentiment among the admin and teaching staff which antagonises conservative thinking and thus creating policies which are likewise. They are not well balanced in their thinking and try to be "modern" without truly being appreciative of traditional or which the call "archaic" values. Thus the biggest downside of this university is that it is not well arranged due to poor and inefficient admin and bad funding distribution. Alright that is all the bad part down and pat. Now the good part which I saved for last. Deep down I love this university, it is my alma mater and I wish it was run better. I love the students here and it is unlike any other university that it is so diverse and beautiful. The people you meet which you could only do if you travelled across the world everyday are all concentrated in this campus. From eastern suburbs to parramatta to Bathurst, you meet all heritage, all backgrounds and all walks of life. And you WILL fall in love with them. It is not all rosy as you will be conflicted with your own mentality but nevertheless it changes and grows you to be more whole if only you are willing. The teaching staff in my course especially during the clinical years are the exception to the fire that I flared in the beginning. They are wonderful, patient and long suffering with the students. They are faithful to their teaching principles and want to impart the best to the students. I have no complaints about them. The campus in itself is not the best and cleanliness can be an issue. However, once again it's down to admin. But in spite of that, I do not regret this university and I love it. If you like something that is broken and you want to contribute to making it better by helping to fix it and enhancing its reputation, the returns of making you a better character surpasses all definitive degree any university offers.

1 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Awesome! (94)
Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (80)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (100)
Icon-campus Campus: Awesome! (100)

Master of Occupational Therapy @ UWS

reviewed on April 30, 2014

I absolutely love going to Uni. At first It was a bit daunting because I wasn't used to doing what was expected of me. They weren't too helpful when teaching us how to reference but I suppose we got there in the end. Also, trying to navigate the uni, even with the map, was a pain.
The library is also a pretty cool place. However, try to find a place to sit anywhere between 10.30-3pm and you're out of luck.

However, I soon found a great group of friends and I figured out that we we're all in the same boat. We would help each other out and work through assignments and study together. We also learnt about my course and its profession, which we all entered not knowing much about what it actually was.
The course, I found, in my first year was poorly organised. When planning for prac everything was last minute and very stressful. The students weren't given too much insight as to what they should expect or should be doing. But the lecturers would accept and promptly reply to emails, which was helpful

My first thought about UWS Campbelltown was that it reminded me of a retirement village. It had manicured gardens, cute, cream brick buildings and you had an endless amount of area available for peace and quiet.
It could improve on the food services available though, as it only has 2 food service shops.

There is always some stall set up, offering Krispy Kreme or lollies, food. The weekly food truck is also FANTASTIC...halloumi sandwiches are the best!!
I also love how there is always parking...even if you have to park a little further back...at least you get a spot. Parking for the year is also very cheap, considering how often I am there and the high price of other univeristies.
My greatest memory of university will always be hanging in the cafe/bar between classes. We'd do quizzes, talk, play pool and eat. We'd often go to the local shopping centre and have lunch and go shopping.
Despite the stress I'd experience settling into uni and managing my assignments UWS has given me the best experience of my life!

2 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Icon-overall Overall: Good (71)
Icon-teaching Teaching: OK (55)
Icon-social Social: Awesome! (91)
Icon-campus Campus: Not good (41)

Bachelor of Health Science (PDHPE) @ UWS

reviewed on April 30, 2014

Making friends was easy due to the fact that in the first class for each unit the teachers made us talk to someone we didn't know and introduce ourselves.
The werrington south campus in penrith is limited in terms of facilities. It lacks in social areas however the scenery is nice with a lot of available grass
It's good in terms of teachers and overall it has been a different and interesting experience

0 Hey, thanks! That's good info!
Report Inappropriate Review
Uws-header
Google Map - UWS
City Sydney, Australia
Established 1989
No. of Students 37,000
Smilescore-logo-small2
Good (84)

Average Rating based on 35 Reviews

Icon-teaching Teaching: Good (76)
Icon-social Social: Good (85)
Icon-campus Campus: Good (78)